SGA elections conclude

The results of the Spring 2011 Elections were announced on Wednesday, March 30 after polling had closed at 4:30 p.m.  Charika Tolliver, an Elections Board Chairman, announced Luke Holloway and M.J. Ahmad as the new president and vice president, respectively, above a gallery of onlookers in the Student Union.  The results of the other SGA races and fee increase were also announced.

Receiving 59 percent of the vote, Holloway edged out Christopher McKinley for the distinction of being the next president of the Student Government Association (SGA).

“I’m looking forward to serving Southeastern,” said Holloway.  “It’s going to be a great year.  I have great optimism.  I’m excited about starting to build my cabinet and working with M.J.  I’m excited about once again working with him and working so we can promote Southeastern and protect higher education.”

“I was very pleased with both candidates that ran for president,” said current SGA president David Cavell. “Both would have done a great job.  I think Luke especially.  He was the only candidate to approach me about the position.  I gave him some credit for that.”

Ahmad was able to get 64 percent of the vote, winning out over his opponent, Ranessa Potier, and becoming SGA’s new vice president.

“I feel great,” said Ahmad.  “All of the hard work paid off, Luke was a big help and especially all of the organizations on campus.”

Out of a possible eight candidates, the six that were chosen for open justice spots were: Brandon Colletti, Jacy Carpenter, Brittany Perise, Ciera Thrash, Kayla “KT” Turner and Robert H. Smith.

“I’m very excited to be a justice!” said Carpenter, a junior psychology major.  “I’m very excited that we’re going to be starting a traffic court system for ticket appeals, and everyone will be able to state their case under William Takewell, our Chief Justice, and all of our new justices.”

The five candidates for the senate that were chosen for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences were: Hunter Robinson, Sara Shoultz, Megan Wiggins, Kenneesha Johnson and Victoria Odom.

Six of the eight candidates who were chosen for the College of Nursing and Health Studies were: LeeAnn Prisk, Ian Doran, Patrick Amie, Erin Francis, Jasmine Jackson and Shawn Keller.

For the at large senator candidates, five of the six were chosen.  Mary Gervais, Branden Summers, Charles “Trey” Barrowman III, Ashley Boudreaux and Ryan Pattison all were elected to office.

William Takewell ran unopposed for the office of SGA Chief Justice

The Self-Assessed Fee Adjustment and Increase Referendum also passed, receiving 67 percent of the vote.  Outgoing President David Cavell shared his thoughts on the passing of this increase.

“I have to commend all of the candidates that ran in the election,” said Cavell.  “Today, the students spoke.  Especially for the referendum, they felt like $75.25 would benefit the university in greater ways than I think a lot of people realize.”

A small crowd was on hand to watch and listen as the results of the election were announced.

“I’m just glad that Luke won,” said Barrowman, a senior majoring in political science.  “They put a lot of their time and effort into it and I’m just glad they won.”

“Everyone proved that they were dedicated,” said Minnie Gatlin, a sophomore in early childhood education.  “I think the results were reasonably fair.”

For more information on the election results, visit the SGA in the Student Union in room 207.